Board of Directors

Board Leadership

President: Elise Lufkin

Vice President: Joseph Joy

Treasurer: Bruce Jacobsen

Secretary: Patricia Laughman, J.D.

Board of Directors

Carol Bogezi, Ph.D. Since 2018, Seattle. Carol obtained her Ph.D. in Wildlife Science from the School of Environment and Forest Sciences at the University of Washington. Born and raised on a farm in Uganda, Ms. Bogezi is intimately aware of the needs of humans and wildlife competing for natural resources. Her research focuses on understanding interactions between humans and carnivores in Washington state.

Bill Donnelly. Since 2002, Seattle. Retired investment adviser; also on boards of Forest Stewardship Council, and digital privacy and biometric identity organizations.

Andy Held. Since 2010, Kirkland. Former high-tech and small businessman, Kirkland Planning Commission and board of the Wilderness Awareness School.

Bruce Jacobsen. Since 2017, Seattle. Bruce has worked in technology including for Microsoft, RealNetworks and as the founder and CEO of Kinetic Books.

Joseph Joy. Since 2017, Bellevue. Joseph worked for 22 years at Microsoft before leaving to start Rinworks LLC, focusing on inquiry-based educational programs that leverage technology. He has an M.S. in Ocean Engineering and an M.S. in Computer Science.

Alexandra Loeb. Since 2003, Rossland, British Columbia; board member for EcoTrust Canada and Teem Fish, former Microsoft Vice President.

Elise Lufkin. Since 2015. An impact investor who has played multiple roles in the nonprofit community, including funder, board and staff. Elise also serves on the board of the Progress Alliance of Washington.

Joaquin Marchand. Since 2016, Elmer City. City councilman, Colville Tribal Director of Diabetes Prevention, M.A. in Public Administration, U.S. Army veteran, 1-505 PIR.

Amelia Marchand. Since 2016, Elmer City. Colville Tribal Environmental Trust Department Program Director, Hearts Gathered board member, Wallowa Homeland board member, Center for World Indigenous Studies board member, M.A. in Environmental Law and Policy.

Lisa McShane. Since 2014, Bellingham. Professional artist, community leader and political and policy strategist, working for Tribes and individuals.

Patricia Laughman, J.D. Since 2016, Seattle. Attorney at Cairncross & Hempelmann, PS. representing design firms, owners and consultants, as well as clients involved in employment-related disputes, and has experience and interest in litigation arising out of environmental projects. Former Policy Research Intern at Conservation Northwest, 2004-2005.

Kevin Scott. Since 2018, Vancouver, Canada. Cofounder of the Fraser Watershed Initiative, a multi-year campaign to work with First Nations, NGO’s, and local governments across British Columbia to ‘heal & protect’ the Mighty Fraser Watershed.

Dr. Valerie Tarico. Since 2019, Seattle. Psychologist and writer. Co-founder, Progress Alliance of Washington.

Matt Uyttendaele. Since 2020, Seattle. Director in the AR/VR division of Facebook, specializing in photography software and AI. Former research scientist at Bell Labs and Microsoft Research. Volunteer for CNW’s Citizen Wildlife Monitoring Project, leading wildlife camera teams.

Board of Advisers

Tom Campion. Chairman and Founder, Zumiez, Inc. Trustee, The Campion Foundation

Jerry Franklin, Ph.D. Professor of Environmental and Forest Sciences, University of Washington

Ron Judd. Senior executive at the Washington Department of Transportation, long time labor and conservation leader

Bob Kelly. Chairman, Nooksack Indian Tribe

Martha Kongsgaard. President of the Puget Sound Partnership. Trustee, Kongsgaard-Goldman Foundation

Larry Casper. Chief, Tsal’alh Band, St’at’imc First Nation

Gordon H. Orians, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus of Biology, University of Washington

For more on our advisory board, please see this blog post from February 2015.